Skip to main content
Eshelman Innovation

Eshelman Innovation Announces 2022 Rankin Innovator Acceleration Award Recipients

Headshots of Brianna Vickerman, Ph.D., and David Lee

Eshelman Innovation Rankin Innovator Acceleration Award, supported by Lawson and Gisele Rankin, is given annually to provide students and Post Docs with funding to pursue entrepreneurial training opportunities.

The 2022 recipients of this award are Brianna Vickerman, Ph.D., and David Lee.

Dr. Brianna Vickerman received her doctoral degree in Chemistry with an emphasis in Biochemistry at UNC. Currently, she works as a Postdoctoral Researcher in UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy’s Division of Chemical Biology and Medicinal Chemistry.

David Lee is a Pharmacology Ph.D. candidate at the UNC School of Medicine. He is completing his dissertation research on pain and opioid neuropharmacology in Dr. Greg Scherrer’s lab.

Each recipient will receive $5,000 to support their participation in entrepreneurism and business training opportunities. The award is funded by The Lawson and Gisele Rankin Endowment and is currently matched with an annual gift.

“The Rankin Innovator Acceleration Award underscores the importance of supporting our emerging leaders in health care. We are so thankful to have the support of the Rankin family who truly understands the importance of translating scientific innovation into products that benefit patients around the world,” said John Bamforth, Executive Director of Eshelman Innovation.

About receiving the award, Dr. Vickerman stated, “It is an absolute honor to be one of the 2022 Eshelman Innovation Rankin Innovator Acceleration Award Recipients. This award has opened so many different entrepreneurial resources to allow me to grow my knowledge and skills to thrive in biotech.”

David Lee added that “the Rankin Innovator Acceleration Award exemplifies the first-in-class opportunities at UNC for student bioentrepreneurs. I look forward to building a strong business foundation to complement my scientific studies under this generous award.”

We value your privacy.

This website collects cookies to deliver a better user experience. By clicking “Accept”, you consent to our use of cookies.